Before dealing with numbers and operations, I decided to go over a few math concepts/ skills that are also essential  in understanding math.

Here are some of the activities we did.

Ability to compare

Compare or  differentiate between long/short, big/small, more/less, light/heavy, same/different, empty/full.

DSC02236

Which buttons are the same? Different?

DSC02239

DSC02237

Similarities or difference in size and color.

DSC02267

Less/ More

DSC02269

 

DSC02274

Equal

My kids always notice what’s full/empty, big /small, I just forgot to take pictures. Some comparison activities were  just done via a workbook, but will add hands on activities for reinforcement.

Sorting or Grouping

Sort or group according to size, color, texture, etc.

DSC02241

DSC02242

Sorting by Color

DSC02278

Big vs small

DSC02226

Sorting by shape

Follows a simple pattern or sequence

DSC02246

DSC02247

DSC02249

 Shapes

DSC02224

DSC02231

My daughter tracing while I teach her brother.

DSC02234

DSC02287

Basic shapes

My son is having a hard time with the shapes triangle and square, I guess we need more hands on activities  for this.

 1:1 Correspondence

DSC02283

DSC02284

My son can easily count from 1-20 but I noticed his having a hard time doing so if the counting does not start with number one. So I had him count starting from 2, then 3 then 4 and so on…

We also did a few count and match, and find the missing number activities.

Once he’s mastered these pre-math skills we’ll proceed with learning the ff:

1. Number words (e.g. 1- one, 2 – two)

2. Which number is greater/lesser

3. Ordinal numbers

4.  Number tracing and writing sessions– we do this every once in a while though, more frequent this time around.

5. Time and currency

I’m not rushing on these though, nor will I teach it in the order I mentioned. I’ll just take advantage of teachable moments here and there. Ultimately the goal is to make learning fun!

God bless!!!

