For the past few days I’ve been constantly re-organizing my plans for our homeschool. Well, we’re not formally enrolled  with any provider nor are we using any boxed curriculum. I just feel like I have to get everything organized  for me to feel accomplished at the end of the day.

You see, with the passing of my Father, our schedule have been in chaos lately.  We haven’t done any writing/ tracing activities, no letter of the week craft, and we’ve been stuck with lesson 14 in the book ‘Teach your child to read in 100 easy lessons’. I just feel I’m not doing enough.

Image

So I started reading blogs again, downloading free ebooks and kindle stuff. Seems like, I’ve researched and downloaded too much. I kept on hoarding information but I haven’t actually used or implemented anything. I kept planning and planning but then I kept on revising it as soon as  I stumble upon a better option. You can just imagine how many revisions I’ve made with all the blogs I’ve read!

Seriously though, I need to take a breather. I need to relax. How old are my kids anyways? Well, I have a 7 month old baby, a 3 year old and a 4 year old. They’re just kids, so I really just need to let them be.

All the pre-school packs and free activity sheets seem promising. But will my kids enjoy them? Or am I in love with the idea that if others are using and enjoying them, my kids will too?

There are times I really pressure my kids especially my son, to do “school” e.g. letter tracing and phonics readers. I pressure myself too much and the kids are the receivers of the not-so-good side of my stressed self. I end up yelling at them for not doing what I expected of them, and this results to them feeling inadequate and scared.

This is just so bad. I feel bad. This has got to stop!

Just today I realized that I should stop on trying to imitate what others are doing and using in their homeschool. Every family is different. Every child is unique. So even though all the freebies on the web are so tempting to use and download, it doesn’t automatically mean that I have to use it.

So what do I do? I stay in the moment. Be with my kids. Observe what genuinely interests them and work around that. This may mean putting off our phonics lessons for later and holding off our writing worksheets, but it’s ok. Will get back to them once they’re ready or when the need arises, whichever comes first.

Image

 I do believe that with the formative years, late is better than early. They will learn when they are ready to learn. For now, what matters is that learning should be fun and meaningful for them.

In addition, I do need to focus more on character development and heart training. Once I’ve been successful in instilling in them the right values and attitudes, academic instructions will be less of a challenge.

So now, I’ve ditched everything but will stick to some basics like reading time, nature walks and self care. I’ve read somewhere that when in doubt, all we have to do is read to our children. Read the bible. Read books and add a few crafts or hands on activities once in a while. Listen to music or audio books. Paint. Sing. Dance. Hug and kiss.  Make most of what’s in front of me and think of creative fun ways to learn something from it.

Image

Just follow the child’s lead. Guide when necessary. Pray.

